SEXISM? Woman sues Man for complementing her stunning LinkedIn Photo

Many women are dying to hear, ‘you are pretty’ ‘looking good’ and such comments from men. But when does a complement turn into sexism or flirting… Well…A barrister in UK, Charlotte Proudman 27, has objected complementary remarks made on her LinkedIn profile photo by Alexander Carter-Silk, a 57-year old lawyer.

Alexander messaged the human rights lawyer Charlotte Proudman on LinkedIn to say she would “win the prize for the best Linked in picture I have ever seen”

Proudman named and shamed Alexander on Twitter.

Alexander told Ms Proudman he was “delighted to connect”, adding “I appreciate that this is probably horrendously politically correct but that is a stunning picture!!!”

“You definitely win the prize for the best Linked in picture I have ever seen

Ms Proudman, told Mr Carter-Silk his message was “offensive”.

Her response, read “I am on linked-in for business purposes not to be approached about my physical appearance or to be objectified by sexist men.

“Unacceptable and misogynistic behaviour. Think twice before sending another woman (half your age) such a sexist message.”

A number of women responded to Ms Proudman’s tweet with messages of support.

“I changed my LinkedIn profile photo to an uglier one so I’d get fewer creepy men adding/messaging me,” a comment on the tweet read.

“I would rather be complimented on my achievements than my face. One I worked hard for, the other I was born with,” another comment read.

Ms Proudman said she had received “lots of supportive messages from men across all sectors”.

2 thoughts on “SEXISM? Woman sues Man for complementing her stunning LinkedIn Photo

Leave a Reply

